Governor Kelly Announces Over $12M Awarded to Fall 2023 KDOT Cost Share Projects, Including Salina

Governor Kelly Announces Over $12M Awarded to Fall 2023 KDOT Cost Share Projects, Including Salina

Governor Kelly and Transportation Secretary Calvin Reed unveiled today a significant investment of over $12M in state funds allocated to 16 transportation construction projects throughout Kansas, courtesy of the Kansas Department of Transportation's Cost Share Program for Fall 2023. This initiative, an integral part of the Kelly administration's Eisenhower Legacy Transportation Program (IKE), will be further enhanced by an additional $7.2M in community matching dollars, resulting in a total investment exceeding $19M.

Governor Kelly emphasized the importance of community involvement in identifying transportation needs, stating, "No one can better pinpoint a community’s transportation needs than the people who actually live and work there. That’s why we’ve partnered with local communities to invest a total of $19M in projects that will improve safety, support job retention, relieve congestion, and make it easier to travel across the state."

The ninth round of the Cost Share Program encompasses a range of enhancements, including county road improvements, bridge repairs, and safety enhancements for roadways and walkways. Thanks to financial support from KDOT’s Kansas Active Transportation Enhancement (KATE), the Cost Share Program was able to fund additional bike/ped projects, broadening the program's impact.

Secretary Reed, reflecting on the success of the Cost Share program, remarked, “It was very much evident during KDOT’s recent Local Consult listening tour how much the Cost Share program is appreciated across the state. Kansans acknowledge how much Cost Share has resulted in much-needed and impactful community-based improvement projects.”

Since its inception in the Fall of 2019, the Cost Share program has directed nearly $140M in state funding toward 165 projects, with an additional $100M contributed in matching local funds. The Fall 2023 Cost Share recipients include various cities and counties, each receiving funding for specific projects aimed at improving infrastructure, safety, and overall community well-being.

The list of Fall 2023 Cost Share recipients and their respective projects are as follows:

  • City of Abilene – 14th Street and North Van Buren Street intersection
  • City of Baldwin City – U.S. 56– Pedestrian Crossing Safety improvements
  • City of Deerfield – Main Street reconstruction project
  • City of Halstead – North Street reconstruction and sidewalk improvements
  • City of Harper – Ash and Walnut streets restoration
  • City of Haysville – South Broadway pedestrian pathway project
  • City of Hillsboro – Adams Street improvements
  • City of Jennings – Chip seal city streets
  • City of Parsons – Main Street sidewalk replacement
  • City of Salina – West Magnolia Road – Phase 1
  • City of Syracuse – New Syracuse Street signs
  • Atchison County – Ottawa Road (RS 21) roadway rehabilitation and safety improvements
  • Brown County – 270th Street rehabilitation
  • Clark and Comanche Counties – Clark and Comanche Counties pavement improvement project
  • Pottawatomie County – Louisville Road bridge over Rock Creek
  • Russell County – Hell Creek Bridge (FAS 420) – Overlay and repairs
Great! Next, complete checkout for full access to Salina311.
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.
You've successfully subscribed to Salina311.
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.
Success! Your billing info has been updated.
Your billing was not updated.